Tom Waits Announces Bad As Me, His First New Album in Seven Years -- But You Won't Get to Hear it Free Today

The kind of listening party Tom Waits wants you to have.

Last week we told you, happily, that Tom Waits was releasing a new song today on his website -- the Sonoma artist's first new song in seven years, and likely the first taste of an upcoming new Waits album.

Well, that's changed -- somewhat. A stream of the new song "Bad as Me," went live yesterday on the website Some Kind of Awesome. Since then, however, it's been taken down. Today on his website, Waits posted a chuckle-inducing video more or less explaining the whole situation (as much as Waits ever explains anything) -- announcing the new Bad As Me album, but also saying that "he's going to have to rethink this whole thing" in the wake of Internet piracy, etc. The video includes lines like:

"Apparently there's no such thing as private anymore. It's an Internet thing, where they say that it's going to go out everywhere, into the bloodstream."


"Or what if you had a root canal, and I asked you to gargle with raw sewage?

The video is titled "listening party," but all we get to hear is snippets of the new songs (which sound pretty great). "Bad as Me," however, is available to download as a single now on iTunes and other sites. You might find ripped YouTubes of it around the web/in the bloodstream today, but Warner Music seems to be taking them down pretty quickly.

The song is pure, melodramatic Waits, with a dragging blues beat, stabbing, reverb-dipped guitars, and a horn section that plays accomplice to the gritty unfoldings. Waits alternates between two different permutations of his shotgun-blasted voice, making the whole thing feel like the perfect soundtrack to some dusty bar full of misfits and killers in a Robert Rodriguez film.

Here's the tracklisting for the album Bad as Me, which, as the video hints, will be out October 25.

1. 'Chicago'
2. 'Raised Right Men'
3. 'Talking at the Same Time'
4. 'Get Lost'
5. 'Face to the Highway'
6. 'Pay Me'
7. 'Back in the Crowd'
8. 'Bad as Me'
9. 'Kiss Me'
10. 'Satisfied'
11. 'Last Leaf'
12. 'Hell Broke Luce'
13. 'New Year's Eve'
14. 'She Stole the Blush' *
15. 'Tell Me' *
16. 'After You Die' *
*bonus tracks on deluxe edition

Follow us on Twitter @SFAllShookDown, follow Ian S. Port @iPORT, and like us at

My Voice Nation Help
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Now Trending

From the Vault



San Francisco Event Tickets
©2014 SF Weekly, LP, All rights reserved.